2014 January Boudoir Special

Last year I started something very scary – something that I honestly believed wouldn’t catch on here. In Northern VT things are fairly conservative. It’s not like people walk around showing no cleavage, but it’s more that we’re the type of community where private things stay, well, private – for the most part, of course (there are always exceptions!!), so the fact that I wanted to start doing January boudoir specials had me truly thinking that this was one session that would not work.

I was wrong. I was so, so wrong.

I discovered last year that not only was it a hugely popular session, but that it really made all the women who did the shoot feel beautiful! I guess when I went into the shoot I hadn’t quite realized how much this type of shoot can boost a woman’s self-esteem, but it did! Women walked out of my studio telling me that they felt beautiful for the first time in a long time (in many cases for the first time ever!) and that they were so hapy that they’d done it, no matter how nervous they’d initially been. It opened my eyes up to just one other way that photography can impact people.

So, of course, this year I had to go bigger and better! I rented out a beautiful farmhouse in Barton, VT and after I’d lined up the hair and makeup duo I moved all the lights and equipment from my studio to the farmhouse, which is something I’ve never done before!

Unfortunately the day was a nasty one! The roads were so icy that my hair genius almost went off the road multiple times, and we started the day knowing that we were going to run really late. Fortunately all of my clients drove slowly and safely and aside from one client who had to cancel because her road had been completely blocked by the storm, we had a full day!!

As you can see, this year we had a fantastic turnout, but I have to tell you about one client that really affected me. Women are ALWAYS nervous when they come into this type of shoot, but this particular client was so nervous that she was visibly shaking. I could see her hands tremble as she took a deep breath and found the courage to put that first outfit on. Slowly, throughout the shoot, she opened up, and this shot is the result of her embracing her beauty.

Isn't she gorgeous!

Isn’t she gorgeous!

The email I received from one client later that night made me want to cry!

I just wanted to say thank you for the amazing time yesterday. I am still smiling! You managed to make me feel comfortable and proud of who I am, more so than I have ever felt in my life. Thank you sooooo much.

Then another message trickled in…

Hey Randi I wanted to send you a message saying Thank you so much for Saturday I never thought I would go as far as I did you just made me feel so comfortable. I was so nervous when I got there and you made me feel better I don’t think I would have ever done this with anyone else at my size. Thanks again!

And another…

Thank you so much for today! I had a great time and it was a great confidence booster  so excited to see everything!!!

I just want to tell those women who came out how proud of them I am, and how honored I was that they chose me to photograph them at their most vulnerable! It’s not easy to take your clothes off in front of someone, especially when there are two huge lights in the room and a camera! But they not only did it – they owned it and helped me to get some of the most fantastic boudoir photos I’ve done yet!

Even better news? Now everyone is jumping on the boudoir bandwagon, and they have all requested a boudoir special in July! I’m in the process of putting that together and can’t wait to do it again!!

IMG_5122 IMG_6221 IMG_6530 IMG_6676

Leave a Reply

