Sibling Love

One of my favorite things about being a photograph in a small area is that I get to see families as they grow and change. Being called back for a repeat client is seriously one of the most amazing things for me and I always feel like having a Sally Field moment…”They like me! They really like me!” and trust me, I NEVER take for granted that I’ll be called back by previous clients. What if they didn’t like the work I did? What if they didn’t like my turn-around time or my personality? That’s why when I got the call to head back to this amazing family I was stoked!

I originally photographed their son’s senior portraits and, at the time, they said I was the first photographer to get him to smile. It wasn’t hard – I’m a big goofball and apparently he responded! Then, a year later, I was back to photograph their daughter’s senior photos and some family photos for them as well! A short time ago I got a call to head up to their house to photograph some sibling pics, as the oldest sibling was visiting from Texas in honor of the younger daughter graduating, and, of course, I said yes!

This family reminds me what I love about photography. I love capturing little moments like these:
IMG_7613

Now the funny thing about this for me is that I know exactly what they’re laughing about, but the casual observer, or their family and friends, has no idea what they’re laughing about and, honestly, likely don’t care! They just love seeing three siblings connecting and laughing together!

And, of course, we had to get some more “classical” portraiture as well!

IMG_7591

What I adore is that both of these were taken only a few minutes apart, but even though one is more journalistic, and the other is a little more classic, you can still see the love and connection between all three of them.

Sometimes I get bogged down in the daily grind of owning this type of business. Sometimes tricky clients or difficult situations get me frustrated and leaves me wondering why I’m doing what I’m doing. Then I get clients like these and suddenly the magic come back.

IMG_7876

I am forever grateful for clients like this because they help me to remember that it’s okay to have fun during a shoot – that fun photos and things that are a little “different” is the main reason why I still have my business!

And, of course, it helps to have so many clients that are gorgeous inside and out!

IMG_7843

Leave a Reply

